Writer Problems

Villain’s Point of View

A while back, when my novel was a baby, I thought about having some sections of it be in my villain’s point of view. I squashed that idea thinking that it would take away from the story/give away too much too fast. But then, a few weeks ago, my cover artist suggested it. So now I’m revisiting that option. I think it would/could be fun to write more with her narrating.

I already have this in my two main characters’ points of view, so I’m not sure if I want to add a third narrator. I’m the type of reader who doesn’t like having to keep many storylines straight in my head, so it makes sense that I wouldn’t want to do that to my readers. Three characters to follow isn’t too many is it?

I also have my prologue and epilogue in my villain’s POV and I don’t want to take away from that. 

However, I have a lot of room to play around with. My novel is currently sitting at ~57,000 words and I would like it to be longer. But not at the expense of taking away from/bogging down the current story. Does that make sense?

What is a writer to do?! Maybe add a chapter(?) in the middle just in her view? Just scratch the idea entirely and go with my initial thought process? 

14 thoughts on “Villain’s Point of View”

    1. Thanks for sharing! I just have to figure out how to do that without boring the reader. Do you have any recommendations of authors that do it well? Or who don’t do it so well so I know what not to do?

      Like

Leave a Reply

