Uncategorized

My Two Introductions

Here are two of my new introductions. Please let me know what you like or don’t like. I’m thinking about combining elements of both.

***

I’m bored. Why couldn’t that witch get me out of here like she promised? At least she was able to help me talk again. That took way to long thinking back on it. At least she gave me this gorgeous ring before I killed her. Leila looked down at her right hand and gazed at the ring. It was gold with a pale blue stone in the center. This will come in handy I think. She smiled wickedly. Yes, I can think of many uses for this.

If only that finicky little man hadn’t put this stupid curtain in front of me. How am I supposed to remain entertained if I can’t see anything? Just because that man died…Leila heard voices.

“Just do it, Jimmy,” a man’s voice said.

“But, what about the rumors, Ken?”

What rumors? Leila wondered.

“They’re just rumors.”

“I don’t know. Don’t you remember that security guard?”

“He probably just had a heart attack. Now are you going to do it or not?”

Come on, Jimmy. You know you want to open the curtain.

“You’ll be a legend in the school.”

“If I survive.”

“What could go wrong?”

Absolutely nothing. I won’t hurt you.

“I just told you.”

“But think about what could go right,” Ken said. “You would be the talk of the school. All the girls will want to date you.”

“I don’t want all the girls,” Jimmy began.

“Ok, fine. But Samantha is sure to notice you too.”

Yes, think about the glory and all the women.

“I don’t know,” Jimmy hesitated.

“If you don’t, the whole school will think you’re a chicken. We can’t have the school thinking that about the starting quarter back.”

“The whole school won’t know anything if you don’t tell them,” Jimmy replied.

He won’t be able to help it.

“Just, do it and get it over with. Pretend it’s a band-aid.”

“Fine.”

Goody. This will be fun. Leila smoothed her gown out, and sat in her chair. She smiled sweetly and waited.

Leila saw the two boys for the first time.  They were muscular, but looked to be about seventeen or eighteen. This will be easier than I thought.

“See, Jimmy. You had nothing to worry about. It’s just a girl.”

“She’s awful pretty,” Jimmy said, more to himself.

I like you. Leila thought.

“Can we go now?” Jimmy asked.

What? No.

“Yeah, just close the curtain up again,” Ken said.

***

I can’t believe that witch messed up a simple release spell. How hard would it have been to let me go? And if that disappointment hadn’t been bad enough, she had to go and make matters worse. I knew I should have used an older witch. What was I thinking using a little girl? I won’t make that mistake twice. At least she was of some help before I killed her. Next time I’ll find someone older. She’ll have to be easily manipulated though.

At least the girl was able to help me find my voice again. That took longer than it should have. Now if I only had someone to talk to. That finicky little man is going to regret putting this curtain in front of me. Just because that man died. How was I supposed to know that he would put up a fight? I just wanted some company. And now I’m not going to get any. Once I get out of this painting.

Leila froze. She thought she heard voices. This could be my chance. She waited and listened.

“Come on, Jimmy, It’s can’t be that hard.”

“You’ve heard the rumors, Ken,” Jimmy said reluctantly.

What rumors?

“That’s all the more reason to do it,” Ken replied.

“I don’t know,” Jimmy said.

“The whole school is depending on you,” a girl spoke up.

What is she doing here?

“Why does it have to be me?”

“Because you’re the varsity quarter back and your masculinity has been challenged.”

“Don’t you want to be remembered as the kid who took on the rumored phantom painting?”

“No, not really.”

“So you want your reputation to be destroyed, Jimmy?”

Listen to your friends, Jimmy.

“If you won’t do it for yourself, then do it to impress Samantha,” the girl said.

“Assuming I live, she still wouldn’t know I exist, Becky,” Jimmy said.

“You’ll be the quarter back that conquered the phantom,” Becky replied. “The whole school will notice you.”

“I still don’t know.”

“If you don’t do this, then I’ll tell the whole school that you were afraid of a painting,” Ken said. “You’ll be the laughing stock and your senior year will be ruined.”

Yes, Jimmy. I won’t hurt you. Much.

“Just pretend the curtain is like a band-aid, and rip it off quickly.”

Leave a Reply

