Writer Problems, Writer's Life

Day Two of the New Rule

As you recall, I started a new rule yesterday. And yesterday it worked. I got my words in and then I able to check Facebook whenever I wanted. and it felt great to have my writing done early in the day. And if I was going to pick a day to cheat, yesterday would have been an easy one. I was in for 4 am at my other job. So I could have very easily made the excuse/promise that I would write later. But I didn’t. I spent the time before I punched in reading. 

Today is proving to be a challenge. I’ve got a lot of life things on my mind and I’m having a hard time wanting to crank out 500 words. In the meantime, Facebook is looking at me with pitiful eyes. But, I’m trying to follow the rule and not look at it. So far, I haven’t. Pinterest on the other hand…let’s just say I’m taking baby steps and eliminating one distraction at a time.

I know I shouldn’t wait for inspiration, desire, etc to hit, but I’m having a hard time focusing. My muse is distracted with something else. Any suggestions for tempting her to come back? Maybe coffee would help?

On a side note, my cover artist finished reading my 1st book, and she and I are getting together next Monday to discuss what I want her to do. I should probably figure that out soon. I’ve got a rough idea, and by rough I mean I know what colors I want the background and title to be.

Well, I should get back to staring at my notebook and trying to get some words written. 

4 thoughts on “Day Two of the New Rule”

Leave a Reply

