Writer's Life

I Went to Visit my Bench

A couple years ago, my husband and I went to Maine to celebrate our anniversary. I would highly recommend going if you have the chance. Anyway, we went on a Stephen King tour, because my husband wanted to. I would also recommend that, but that’s not the point of mentioning it. So on the tour we stopped at this water tower type thing (that’s not what it was, but I can’t remember the actual word) where King wrote the book It. He sat on this bench and wrote. 

Fast forward to the next summer back in Wisconsin. I found my own bench to sit at and write. Actually, it’s more of a dock, but it’s the same idea. Well, I haven’t been to it in a long time, so I decided tok bike over to it and crank out a few hundred words. I packed my notebook and pen in  my backpack and then biked over there. My dock was occupied by a couple people fishing so I sat at a different one. (I can’t get my picture to upload. I’ll try again later).

Unfortunately, I couldn’t stay for as long as I would have liked. The humidity and the temperature for to me. (Its a whopping 84°  Fahrenheit). I know to some of you, it’s comfortable, but my not that blood likes it about 20 degrees cooler. I did get about 80 words done though, so it wasn’t a wasted trip. Now I’m back home sitting in the air conditioning and talking to you guys. Once I finish I’m going to get back to work.

Leave a Reply

