Agent/Publisher Search

Small Press Search

I’ve officially decided to go the self-publishing route. This week anyway. Hubby and I had a nice chat about it yesterday and he said I should do what I wanted. So I’ve been looking for small press/independent publishers. I made a list of 54 that I found on  Poets&Writers, and then I narrowed it down to 10. 

Is that a good starting point? I feel like I’m being too picky about this. But shouldn’t I be? I mean, it’s my pretend name that is being represented. For example, if the website seemed too snooty, I moved on. Also, if I found a typo (I wasn’t even trying, I promise). I disregarded the company. Should I have said something to them? Those were basically my only two requirements after finishing out that they had no reading fee and were open to unsolicited queries. 

Anyway, I should get back to the search and start writing out these queries. I just wanted to check in with you guys and let you know what was going on. Do you have any other resources that I should look into?

15 thoughts on “Small Press Search”

  1. “it’s my pretend name that is being represented” lol
    I wish you all the luck in the world, Honey! Either way that you go (trad-pub, self-pub, indie-pub) you have to learn to market yourself. It is a tough decision to make and one that I have swayed between many times.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I think the decision depends on my mood. Some days I’m all for looking for an agent and other days I’m so sick of looking at my novel that I jusdt want to self publish it right then. Which route did you take? Are you glad you went that way?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I was published by an indie press and then they went bust after 12 months and all the hard work (and money) I had spent on self-promoting was wasted… Before that, I was trying to trad publish and now I am back to the query trenches. I cannot submit that book because technically it was already published so I am pushing my next book. But I realized that I really wanted to see my book in a bookstore. I want to be able to walk into a Barnes and Noble and find my book on the shelf (and sneakily sign them lol) I’m sorry if this info has swayed your decision…

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Oh no. I’m sorry about the indie press. I think it’s many writers’ dream to see their book in bookstores. At least, I wouldn’t object to it. πŸ˜‰ I hope your queries are sucessful!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Adelise: With the company going belly up you might be able to just to republish the novel yourself. Instead of giving up on that work consult your contract and a lawyer. Good luck on your search for traditional representation.

        Like

      1. Thanks! It was the first day I hit 1000 words in a long time. To be fair, I wasn’t really trying to add words to my first novel. πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

