Agent/Publisher Search, Writer's Life

Exciting News!

Journal Colorful Blogger Photo Confetti Pink
Unfortunately, I don’t have confetti at home, so I borrowed this picture from Google Reuse.

This is the moment we’ve all been waiting for.

I finished my novel on Tuesday! For good. I’m not looking at it again. EVER! (That’s a lie, I’ll probably have a few comma splices and/or misspelled words that will need to be corrected). I just sent it to my cover artist, and I have it printed to give to my editor (my mother-in-law). I should probably make sure she’s ok with me referring to her as that. I have a tentative date set, but the minute I tell everyone what it is, everything will wind up falling apart. When it gets closer to the day I will announce it, somehow. I’m trying to maintain complete anonymity and I haven’t worked out how to share it without divulging who I really am. (Any suggestions would be great).

So now the hard work begins. I’m looking for an independent publisher, so I can get a few paperbacks of said novel. Everything I’ve been finding online wants me to give them my phone number and email address. I have no problem giving out my email, however, I don’t want to give out my number. I don’t like to answer the phone for people I know, much less complete strangers. I think it’s an introvert thing. Anyway. Is there a way to get around giving out my number? Should I even find a publishing company to print or should I talk to a few printing places ( I can’t think of the actual word I want to use because words are hard).

There are two reasons that I want to have a paperback version. 1. I want my own copy to display on my bookcase, because, who doesn’t want to display their own novel? 2. I owe books to everyone who helped me out in this process, and a few of those people prefer a non-ebook version.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Exciting News!”

  1. First, CONGRATS!!! Now, as for the address thing. Pick your pen name, then find a site that hosts addresses to from home businesses. You get a street address for the site that works like a real one but acts like a PO Box on your end. They’re out there, just look! Seriously, some of these sites even provide phone answering etc. That’s an easy peasy issue, and I solved it, so get back to writing!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Not JUST a PO Box, but a business that provides more. Try searching or Corporate Virtual Offices. Remember, if you use a penname you’ll like have created a business for it so that business will have operating paperwork. Use those names to manage things. Message me in PM for more details.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

