Agent/Publisher Search, Writer's Life

Writer’s Workshop

A couple days ago I was wasting time on Facebook when I saw a post about an event near me on publishing. So I sent my husband a text asking if he wanted to go and he agreed, so this morning we went. And I learned a lot! I took two pages worth of notes in a relaxed environment, and we just barely scratched The surface. The woman hosting it provided material that I hadn’t even considered. 

My favorite piece of advice was “Every author is afraid.”  Initially it sounds disheartening, but after thinking about it for awhile it became more reassuring. I’m not the only one going through the self-doubt phase (again). And everything will be ok and work out.

Another helpful idea she said was to go to a bookstore and look at the books. Look at what size they are and see which one you like the best. Also look at things like font, chapter headings, page numbers, and other little things that one doesn’t typically think about looking at.  That way you have an idea for how you want your own book to look.

The final thing that I’ll mention is she said you (as the author) are the best person to sell your book. You wrote it so you know what it’s about and who to target it towards.

I lied, this is for real the last thing. Fall in love with the writing process. Part of that process is the self-doubt and rejection, but so is finally getting to say I am a writer.

Leave a Reply

