Writing and Editing

Quick Question

​I was reading my novel again for the last time and this paragraph reminds me of something, but I’m not sure if I’m just being paranoid or if it really does so I figured I’d ask you guys. If you don’t come up with the same thought that I had I’ll assume it’s ok, and I’ll tell you what I think after I’ve received some feedback. Also if you have any other suggestions for making it better feel free and mention that too. Thanks in advance for your help! 
Leila Portabella was the only daughter of a wealthy land merchant in France. Her mother had died giving birth to her baby brother who died shortly after he was born. Her father never got over the loss, and Leila was a constant reminder of what he had just lost, so he busied himself with work to avoid confronting his grief. He didn’t have the time or desire to take care of Leila so he  left her under the care of a governess. The woman did her best to engage Leila and teach her what she needed to know, but Leila missed her parents and she struggled to stay focused on her work. Before the death of her mother, Leila’s father often doted on his daughter, but since their loss, he traveled far away, often for months at a time. Leila tried her best to be a well behaved little girl, but she could never quite figure out how to please the governess.

3 thoughts on “Quick Question”

Leave a Reply

