Books and Such

Bronte Sisters

​Last night I finished The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Bronte. Thus completing my Bronte sisters reading list. (I’m not sure what to read for “classics” now. Any recommendations? Assume I haven’t read any of them. However, Dracula and Frankenstein are off limits because I’m going to be reading them for book club).

I didn’t really like Wuthering Heights. Mainly because I didn’t see the love between Catherine and Heathcliff. That and all the characters seemed whiny to me. I watched the movie (I don’t remember which version) and I liked that better than the book. Blasphemy, I know! 

I loved Jane Eyre. I loved the characters and I was glad with how it ended. My mom and I read this one together and tonight we’re going to watch the movie and compare it with the book. 

The Tenant (which I’ve been spelling wrong this entire time. How embarrassing) of Wildfell Hall was a close second to Jane Eyre. I enjoyed the characters here too and the narration was pretty good. I think this was my favorite ending of the three although I was pleased with how the other two ended.  I feel like I have to find a movie of this novel too. Was one made? Does anyone know? 

7 thoughts on “Bronte Sisters”

Leave a Reply

