Writing and Editing

Why do Relationships have to be so Hard? 

​I’m not talking about mine, just to clarify. I don’t need those rumors to start. I’m talking about the relationship between my two main characters.

It has been brought to my attention by one of my beta readers that their relationship is unrealistic and progresses too fast. So now I’m tasked with making it more believable. The ultimate goal is for them to have a “forbidden love affair” type situation. Which they have, but I’ve got it starting in chapter 3. Which is way too soon considering they met about a week ago in novel time.

I’m probably over thinking it (like I do with a lot of other aspects of my writing). It doesn’t help that I’ve been working on this since about noon today. I’ve made a lot of progress which I’m very happy about, but now my brain is done for the night. 

It also doesn’t help that I’m not good at flirting. Scratch that. I can’t flirt. I don’t know how to do it and now that I’ve been married for a little over 6 years I’m not sure if I want/need to learn how? 

Please don’t flirt with me! My husband won’t like that too much (and I don’t blame him). 

I need help building a relationship. I need help with the natural progression. Here’s a little background of my characters. He’s a college professor and she is one of his students (talk about forbidden romance). They shouldn’t be seen together in public, but they can’t help it. 

Any and all help/suggestions are greatly appreciated and thanks in advance. 

3 thoughts on “Why do Relationships have to be so Hard? ”

  1. Flirting is easy, and harmless. Mostly, it’s just being nice and extra complimentary. Unless you write regency romance. Then it means being a cad, an ass, a total jerk. But she loves you anyway, and being rich doesn’t hurt….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

