NANOWRIMO, Writing and Editing

Happy October

Well its the 2nd of the month. Hopefully it goes well for everyone. 

This week I’m taking a break from writing (sort of) and I’m preparing my novel for November. Now I’ve been saying this for awhile but this time I actually mean it. I have a lot of work to do and only a week to do it.(And am I doing any of it? No of course not, I’m wasting time on the Internet).

This is a list of what I have to do. I’m sure I’m forgetting something, I’m I just don’t know what at the moment. 

  • Come up with a basic plot based of the short story I have written
  • Type out said short story and assess its strengths and weaknesses
  • Figure out the “rules”
  • Write an outline so I have something to not follow (That’s what usually happens anyway)
  • Work out my settings
  • Come up with a reward system
  • Organize my work space
  • Familiarize myself with the NaNoWriMo website

And this is what I have done. It’s not nearly enough,  but I had daily writing to do so that didn’t give me much spare time to work on it.

  • Make up note cards regarding most of my characters. 
  • Made up my NaNo jars

Have you started preparing yet? What are some things that you are trying to get done before November? 

Leave a Reply

