Writing and Editing

I’m Feeling Better About November

​I’m going to start by saying that I spend way too much time on Pinterest and I apologize for all the references to that website. 

That being said. I found this idea and I decided to personalize it. Basically what it is, is creating story sticks. You take any number of popsicle sticks (I used 60) and write a prompt on it. That way when you don’t know what to write you pick one and you have to incorporate it into your novel.  I thought it was a brilliant idea so I went with it.

I also saw on the same blog this person made another jar that had numbers on scraps of paper and when she hit 1667 words if it was still early enough she picked one of the scraps and she had to write that many more words that day. I also did that but I wasn’t as ambitious as the other person so my numbers aren’t that high. (Most of them anyway.)

MY nanowrimo jars. From left to right, daily word count dare, story sticks, words of wisdom. I’m going to work on filling the last jar in a few minutes. 

Now I just have to finalize my reward system and come up with my motivation jar. (It’s going to basically be scraps of paper with motivational quotes on them). Oh and plan my novel out. There’s that minor detail that I’ve been putting off. 😉 

How is your NaNoWriMo prep coming? Do you have any ideas for rewards that aren’t food. (I’ve got enough of those types).I need two more ideas. If you need any ideas for anything let me know. I’d be happy to help.

6 thoughts on “I’m Feeling Better About November”

    1. That’s a good idea too! Once we finish remodeling our basement, which is where my office is going to be, I plan on hanging art on the walls too. (At least in my corner). The rest is my husband’s man cave. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I need to find an artist for that idea to work. I can’t draw to save my life. I, or you, could take the cover art of our favorite books and use that as inspiration too. Kind of like “well that author did it why can’t I?”

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

