Writing and Editing

Word Count

​I’ve been writing. I took the advice of jrhandleyblog and I stopped trying to micromanage all of my characters and I just wrote. And it felt amazing! 

I’m going to tell you what I did but first I have to figure out what I want my daily word count to be. (Don’t worry, I won’t tell you everyday how many words I’ve written, maybe I will weekly or once or twice a month I haven’t decided yet). Anyway I could make my goal 500 words, which is about 5 pages in my little notebook, 

My little notebook. I can get about 142 words per page. I am a Star Wars nerd by the way. We can talk about that later if you’d like.
or I can make it 1000, which I’ve been able to do in the past so I know it’s obtainable. However I’m still sort of recovering from wrist surgery (I had carpal tunnel syndrome in both wrists, but it was taken care of in May) so I don’t want to push too hard. Maybe I’ll shoot for somewhere in between. 

Anyway, tonight I wrote 808 words. It’s the most I’ve written in one sitting since before May. I knocked out 5 note cards and I decided to move one and add another. 

I know I skipped number 5, I decided to move it. I’m really loving the ease of this kind of “outline,” and I think I’m definitely going to do it again.

So regardless of my word count goal, I’d say tonight was very productive. Now I just have to get back in the habit of writing everyday again. 

What do you like to do to form a new habit? Also, what do you think about my word count? (Keep in mind that I work 40 hours a week also, so it has to be obtainable).

13 thoughts on “Word Count”

  1. Listen to DEAD ROBOTS SOCIETY Podcast… loads of great advice. They have a strategy of a 500 Words a Day minimum. It is obtainable, you end up with a streak that you wanna keep and if you go over, even better! 🙂 Also, I’m glad you started writing!!!

    Like

      1. There are no impressionable minds running around our house at the moment, but I’ll probably watch it on my lunch break at work with the headphones in my phone anyway. Thanks for the heads up though.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Sometimes they talk about writing in reference to erotica (nothing graphic), sometimes they’re politically incorrect and sometimes they drop an occasional F-bomb. Nothing R rated, just a giving a gentle heads up. They’ve also got an active writers group on Facebook if you are so inclined.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I tried to watch a podcast but my phone won’t let me do view it. Something about the website violates a term of use. (Maybe it’s my connection at work). Either way, I’m really bummed 😟

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I use the Podcast App on my phone and just listen. There wasn’t any video with the Listeners of the Dead Robots Society Podcasts? Or were you watching/listening to something else?

        Like

Leave a Reply

