Writing and Editing

I’ve Taken Enough Time Off

I haven’t written one word in over a week (it might have been 2 weeks now that I think about it, that’s how long it’s been. I don’t remember.) What I have written is garbage and needs work. The concept is there but the execution isn’t because I haven’t been practicing lately. 

So yesterday I made an important decision. If I want to call myself a writer (and I do) then I better start acting like one. I’m going to start writing everyday no matter what. I’m currently between projects at the moment so I’ll just work on character sketches or short stories until I come up with an idea that I can work with long term. If you see me or think of me ask me how I’m doing. I need the accountability. (Feel free and ask me via Twitter @nicholequade or comment below if you’d rather.)

I’m hoping to get a notebook tonight that will help inspire/motivate this project. (I’ll post a picture when/if I find something that sparks my fancy).

In the meantime I’m in the process of editing my short story. (And by editing I mean staring at it until I hate it). It’s gotten to the point that I don’t even know what to do. 

I’m pretending to edit my story. Spider Man is not going to be my inspiration notebook just so you know. He’s my short story notebook (and yes there is a difference).

Any suggestions for what I should write about. What do you do when you’re between projects? 

4 thoughts on “I’ve Taken Enough Time Off”

  1. I’ve set myself the exact same challenge. Something that often gets me thinking is listening to music and try to interpret the lyrics and sounds differently – always manage to come up with some form of idea 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks for the idea. What kind of music do you like to listen to? I think I should get some other music that I use just for that purpose because I feel that the music I typically listen to I’ve heard too much so the words aren’t as meaningful.

      Like

      1. I know what you mean. I like to listen to all sorts. Bon Iver is a good place to start. Anything that sounds…I don’t know…”natural” I suppose. I do like to listen to film scores too (anything by Thomas Newman), sometimes just music without words is just as inspirational!

        Like

Leave a Reply

