Writing and Editing

New Story Idea

​Friday night I started a new story. I had the idea in my head for a couple days but I couldn’t figure out where to go from there until I forced myself to just do it. It wasn’t really going well stylistically (I was writing in first person present tense and I’m not used to writing that way so I had to work harder at it), but the premise was there so I kept it up.

The first page of my story.

Then yesterday on our way back home I worked on it for a little bit moving the plot forward but changing it to 3rd person past tense, which is what I’m used to.  I fell asleep though and didn’t get very far with it. After we got home last night I found an empty notebook (I’m weird like that) and I started the story over.  I got about a page written before my husband and I decided to watch Game of Thrones   (We just started so don’t say anything).

This afternoon I went to the park by our house to catch some Pokemon (yeah, I’m one of those people) but I brought my notebook and pen with me and I worked on my story at the same time. Yay for multitasking.  I wrote about half a page while there, Due to there being no pokestops (Those of you who play know what I’m talking about and those who don’t play probably don’t care) by my bench, I wasn’t able to sit there, but I found a new place to sit. There was a giant spider there too and I’m lucky I got anything done after I saw it. 

One of the pokemon I saw at the park. Yeah, I know I’m a nerd.
It was really windy at the park so I had to hold the piece of paper down with my foot.

So here’s the basic idea of what my story is going to be about. There’s a little girl who has a teddy bear. He defends her against the monster under her bed but she doesn’t know he’s “alive” until he has to tell her so he can prevent the Other One from collecting her. 

I’d post the actual story, but I have hopes of submitting it to literally magazines and they won’t accept something if it has already been published. However if you’d like to read it let me know and I can get you a copy when I finish it.

What are you working on right now? How’s the process treating you? Do you write in a notebook first or do you type it up right away? What’s your rational for writing the way you do?

Leave a Reply

